Justin Timberlake’s 20/20 Experience Part 2

Image

Joseph Lantague ’16

I have got a confession to make: I am a Justin Timberlake fan.  And as a Justin Timberlake follower, I loved his album The 20/20 Experience that came out earlier this year.  When I heard there was going to be a second part to that album, I got very excited.  Unfortunately, this album doesn’t sound or feel like an extension on the music from the first part; it feels like a completely different record.  I’m not sure if it matters, but the first part had no explicit songs in it, while the second album has six, and it just so happens the two songs that I really liked were not marked explicit.   If I had a word to describe the first part, it was class; the second I am still undecided on due to the various different sounds to the album.  Some songs sound like classic Justin, others I simply don’t like, and one song even reminded me of the Classic Rock era of music.  As a fan of Justin Timberlake, I did enjoy the album, but unfortunately, I cannot recommend it to other people.  If I were you, just spend the money on Take Back the Night and Drink You Away, as they are the real standouts of this album.

3 Stars

Leave a comment

Filed under Reviews

Leave a Reply

