Athlete Profile: Harrison George

Ned Belliveau ’14

george

 

Co-captain Harrison George has led the Hampden-Sydney basketball Tigers to their best start in years at 15-2 and a #23 national ranking according to d3hoops.com. I sat down with the senior forward for an interview.

Q: What are your goals for this year’s team?

A: To win an ODAC Championship and go to the NCAA Tournament.

Q: What are your personal goals?

A: Wow, I never really thought about that. I would say to make my teammates better and to help them reach their goals.

Q: What do you think your chances of winning the ODAC title are?

A: I think they’re pretty good; right now we’re 2nd, but we have to make sure to take it a day at a time and not look too far ahead.

Q: What is it like to play for Coach Vick?

A: Pretty fun, he has a lot of expectations for everyone on the team. He wants us all to succeed.

Q: Why did you choose to come to H-SC?

A: My parents. I had no choice. I wanted to go to ECU [East Carolina University], but they thought the education was better and after basketball is over, this is a good place to go to school.

Q: What do you think is the biggest reason for the team’s success?

A; Unselfishness, because we don’t really care who scores as long as we get the bucket. On any night, anyone can score 30 points and our defense is improving as well. We’re deep.

Q: What has been your favorite on-court memory?

A; Probably my freshman year against EMU here at home. There was a huge snowstorm so a lot of students were there. They were ranked #8 in the country, but we beat them by 10.

Q: What about off the court?

A: Fishing with my friends around campus, like Regis and Derek. I fish a lot in the off-season.

Q: Who is a teammate you really enjoy playing with?

A: I have two: Mike and Mitch because we always work out together and stuff like that. I love all my teammates, but they’re freshman so you gotta show them some love.

Q: Who do you have winning the Super Bowl?

A: That’s a tough one. I just want to see Ray Lewis get a ring and go out on top.

Q: So the team’s pre-game routine includes a dance circle. I have to ask: how good of a dancer are you?

A: [Laughs] Wow I have to say I’m definitely top 3. Leon and Alex are at the top though.

Leave a comment

Filed under Sports

Leave a Reply

