Severe Injury Leaves Student in Need of Help

Grady Bing ’12

“On October 13th, I experienced an accident which changed my life as I knew it. In an instant I had an accident, an event which snapped my kneecap in half, disabling the functioning of every part of my leg.” Senior Tyler Carver suffered from a leg injury that has required surgery and has left him on crutches. He is unable to attend classes because of this and is unable to get proper food from the commons. So naturally, he went to the Health and Wellness Center. “When I did, I asked them how I could get a cart, and they said they didn’t know, and they asked me to come in to get updated on my paperwork since I’d be missing classes. They also told me to contact the campus police to get information about cart transportation on campus…so it was back and forth misleading information.”
After this dead end, still missing classes and even missing dinner some nights, Tyler had to go even further. “They also told me to contact the Dean of Student Affairs to let them know my situation, but I called several times, over the course of a few days, and I never spoke with the Dean once. When my mother called the Wellness Center, she was almost in tears because they weren’t supporting my needs to stay on campus and attend classes, she said the people in the Wellness Center said that “maybe I just don’t need to be here…or come back.” When Tyler found out that the school, instead of assisting a brother in need, suggested that he just leave for the remainder of the semester, Tyler was pushed over the edge. “The school wants me to just give up on that? To quit? To go home when I have the ambition, the motivation? This school has instilled in me to commit, to never give up on my dreams, and do the best I can all the time. I am a senior now, I only need 4 or 5 classes to graduate, and they want me to quit because I can’t use my leg.”
This kind of accident could happen to any one of us at the drop of a hat. In fact, I’m sure you have seen students in carts this semester driving around. When asked by his mother, the Dean of Student Affairs replied, “there’s no reason why I shouldn’t have a cart.” Why isn’t the school prepared for these accidents? Tyler said the school didn’t even have a wheel chair. “Not to put down the athletes…but the second they are injured…someone is there to help them, give them a cart (regardless of how it is insured), they are provided with what they need to get around, get better, and get to class.” Whether a student is injured, or a student-athlete is injured, they should all be handled in the same way. “I was very disappointed that the people who were supposed to help me didn’t support my choice to stay and work hard. They didn’t have a system for helping me.”
“When I started here at HSC, my life was about doing what was right for others, and committing to the brotherhood. I bleed garnet and gray, and this is supposed to be honorable? I go out of my way all the time to help people regardless of what I have to do, and I never ask for help, but the one time in my life I need it, I’m alone.” We, as a student body, cannot allow one of our brothers to remain down; we need to help him up.
These incidents occur quite often. For example, students get mono, or some illness and have to miss a substantial part of class, but Tyler has the will power to persevere. Tyler is not accepting the stance of the college, and he says, “I came here to work harder than I ever have, and to prove to my parents that I can achieve something valuable by finishing college. I want to give my mother the best Mother’s Day gift ever. I just want to see her smile as I walk across that stage, to know I made her proud.” Tyler is close to finishing this goal, and our college hasn’t given him what he needs to complete his degree.
“I will mention, I am also grateful for the few friends I have who do check on me, and get me to the hospital. I am also thankful for the professors who have worked with me to maintain my workload.”

Leave a comment

Filed under Features

Leave a Reply

